Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

About Us

The ABC Board was created in 1944. There are three members of the Board: the Chairman, the Distilled Spirits Administrator and the Malt Beverage Administrator.

The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board promulgates reasonable administrative regulations relative to the traffic of alcoholic beverages. The Kentucky Revised Statutes, specifically chapters 241-244 and chapter 438, authorize the Board to regulate and oversee the alcoholic beverage industry and to adjudicate and levy fines. The ABC Board has full authority to issue, deny, suspend or revoke alcoholic beverage licenses. 

The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control includes various divisions as follows: the Commissioner’s office, the Distilled Spirits and Malt Beverage divisions, an administrative services branch, a licensing division, an education branch, a legal division and an enforcement division. These elements work together to ensure the agency’s exceptional licensure, effective regulatory enforcement, and excellence in public service. ​​