Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Image of bourbon barrels in a distillery warehouse

Kentucky Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

Our mission is to protect the public welfare and interest by regulating the alcoholic beverage industry through licensing, education and the enforcement of alcohol laws and regulations, as well as combating youth access to alcoholic beverages and
tobacco products in the Commonwealth.


The Super Bowl:  Are you game day ready?

The Super Bowl is a day of fun, food and football.  Along with all of the festivities, many people choose to gamble as a part of the big day.  Please be mindful that KRS 243.500 (7) prohibits gambling on any ABC licensed premises.

KRS 243.500(7) provides that an alcoholic beverage license may be revoked or suspended for:

Setting up, conducting, operating or keeping on the licensed premises any gambling game, device, machine, contrivance, lottery, gift enterprise, handbook, or facility for betting or transmitting bets on horse racing, or permitting to be set up, conducting, operating, kept or engaged in, on the licensed premises, on any such game, device, machine, contrivance, lottery, gift enterprise, handbook, or facility.  This section shall not apply in contests in which eligibility to particpate is determined by chance and the ultimate winner is determined by skill and the licensee has no direct interest, or to the sale of lottery tickets sold under the provisions of KRS Chapter 154A.

In addition to gambling, Super Bowl is also a time of over-consumption of alcohol for many.  KRS 244.080 states that it is illegal to sell, give away, or deliver any alcoholic beverages to "a person actually or apparently under the influence of alcoholic beverages".  Sellers and servers need to be aware of how much alcohol an individual has consumed in order to prevent over-service.

Lets keep everyone safe by following the law this Super Bowl Sunday.