Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Education

​​​​The Education Branch of the Alcoholic Beverage Control exists to make the Commonwealth of Kentucky a safer place through education by offering ​Server Training in Alcohol Regulations (STAR) and by providing information through public outreach.

 

STAR Online Registration and Class Calendar

Register online for STAR classes and see when and where classes are available.

​Server Training in Alcohol Regulations ​

Effective immediately, all certificates of completion will be electronically delivered. The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control will no longer provide paper certificates. 


Server Training in Alcohol Regulations

Server Training in Alcohol Regulations (STAR) is a responsible beverage server training course developed by the Alcoholic Beverage Control.

  • S​TAR is Kentucky specific regarding alcohol laws
  • STAR is accepted statewide
  • The course is $40 per person
  • Certification is valid for three years
  • Class is three hours
  • Online Classes are available in Spanish
  • Private classes are available for groups of 15 or more

Program Updates

Please be aware that registrants of STAR will now be reminded of their class time via e-mail. It is important to provide this office with an accurate e-mail address.​

 

Goals

  • Educating licensees regarding valid and fake identifications
  • Reducing illegal alcohol sales to minors
  • Reducing sales to persons who are already intoxicated
  • Promoting responsible consumption
  • Providing information to sellers and servers to protect themselves from third-party liability lawsuits
  • Educating licensees and servers about Kentucky liquor laws

Tobacco Retailer Underage Sales Training

Kentucky is educating tobacco retailer employees to prevent the sale of cigarettes to underage youth. As part of this effort, state tobacco prevention specialists have developed a FREE program called Tobacco Retailer Underage Sales Training (TRUST).

According to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), having employees trained through a program that follows FDA guidelines such as TRUST could reduce fines to store owners if they were found in violation of federal tobacco laws.

Underage Sales Training​

Register and complete the training.

Begin Training | Take Quiz

The TRUST training program is designed to:

  • Educate employees and owners of stores that sell tobacco of their legal responsibilities and liabilities for selling tobacco products to anyone under 18 years of age.
  • Educate employees how to verify that customers purchasing tobacco products are of legal age.
  • Provide an understanding of the health consequences of tobacco.
  • Help store owners and employees avoid costly fines.

TRUST training can offer:

  • Content that is consistent with FDA guidelines for tobacco retailer training.
  • Two different training formats - online or face to face for your convenience.
  • Training certificates and test results for each employee (FDA recommended).
  • Additional support documents to enhance the effectiveness of your store tobacco policy.
  • Regularly updated training content to keep up with changes in federal and state tobacco laws.

TRUST is offered free of charge courtesy of the Department for Public Health, the Department for Alcoholic Beverage Control, and the Department of Behavioral Health, Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities.

If you have any questions or would like additional information on the TRUST program please contact us.


Contact the Education Branch

email: ABC.EDU@ky.gov​